The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup

This year New Zealand is hosting the Women’s Cricket World Cup tournament. There will be 31 cricket matches, 1 every day, from the 4th of March to the 3rd of April. There are 8 women’s cricket teams competing: New Zealand, the West Indies, Bangladesh, the Republic of South Africa, Australia, England, Pakistan and India. This tournament takes place in a different country every four years.

Each match takes a whole day to play, and they will be in different locations around the country: Eden Park in Auckland, Seddon Park in Hamilton, The Bay Oval in Tauranga, The Basin Reserve in Wellington, The Hagley Oval in Christchurch and the University Oval in Dunedin.

The final game will be held in Christchurch on the third of April. The team that wins the world cup the most often is Australia; they have won the cup 6 times in the past. But maybe this year, New Zealand’s White Ferns will win, as they have once before!

You can check the schedule and buy tickets here.


Tournament: a series of competitions with several competitors who want to win a championship

match: an event in which people play a sports game from beginning to end

location: place

as: in a similar way

[h5p id=”115″]